Thursday, May 6, 2010

Seventh Star Press, Steven L. Shrewsbury, and a New Novel

Below is the official press release regarding Steven Shrewsbury joining the Seventh Star Press family with his new dark-fantasy novel Thrall. Get ready for some new articles and podcasts coming very shortly!



For Immediate Release
May 6, 2010

Seventh Star Press Announces New Steven L. Shrewsbury Novel

Seventh Star Press is proud to announce the addition of Fantasy/Horror writer Steven L. Shrewsbury to its family of authors, with the forthcoming release of the dark-edged fantasy novel Thrall.

Thrall tells the tale of Gorias La Gaul, an aging warrior who is thrust into a maelstrom involving warring factions, demonic forces from his past, and a grandson who is in the shadow of necromancy. Set in an antediluvian world, around the mythical city of Khabnur, Thrall brings to life a tale of adventure, adversity, and courage. From Nephilums to undead dragons, the world revealed in Thrall is as dangerous and unpredictable as much as it delivers resoundingly to those who love well-crafted, hard hitting fantasy in the vein of Robert E. Howard and David Gemmell.

Shrewsbury is no stranger to fantasy and horror fans, with a great number of novels and short stories published. Some of his recent, well-received works include the novels Tormentor (Lachesis Publishing), Hawg (Graveside Tales) and Stronger Than Death (Snuff Books). He also had a short story recently published in the anthology Harlan County Horrors (Apex Publications)

Amanda DeBord, editor-in-chief at Seventh Star Press, commented on the acquisition of Thrall: "I'm so excited to add Steven Shrewsbury to the Seventh Star label. Steven's a prolific writer, and he's got a ton of fans already, but I hope we're able to introduce him to some new readers. From the first few paragraphs of Thrall, I knew the story was in very capable hands. Gorias, the main character, is the fantasy-lovers' John Wayne, though with a harder edge. All of the characters are real and engaging, and Shrewsbury tells their story as if he were there to watch it all happen. This is going to be a hit."

Thrall will reunite Shrewsbury with editor Louise Bohmer, who worked with him on his novel Tormentor (Lachesis Publishing). Bohmer is also a familiar figure in the publishing world, with a host of editing credits spanning novels to short fiction and anthologies. The chemistry and previous history between the author and editor forecasts an outstanding first edition of the book.

“"It's a pleasure to edit for Steven Shrewsbury. A walk through one of his novels is a thrilling adventure, often with a breathless pace that makes you feel as if you've lived a part of the story with its hero,” said Bohmer, in regards to working with Shrewsbury again.

The book will feature cover art and additional artwork from fantasy artist Matthew Perry, whose illustrations and cover art are featured in both The Rising Dawn Saga and the Fires in Eden series from author Stephen Zimmer (Seventh Star Press).

The projected release date for Thrall is for October/November of 2010. A special, short-run limited edition hardcover will be offered with a package of collectibles, with trade paperback, hardcover, Kindle, and eBook editions to follow.

Updates and additional information can be obtained at the official site for Seventh Star Press, at www.seventhstarpress.com , or at the author's site at www.stevenshrewsbury.com


Contact: C.C. James
Public Relations, Seventh Star Press
ccjames@seventhstarpress.com
Seventh Star Press Mailing Address:
3801 Dylan Place Suite 116, #7
Lexington, Ky. 40514-1062

Seventh Star Press is a small press publisher of speculative fiction located in Lexington Kentucky.

No comments:

Post a Comment

ShareThis