Monday, November 29, 2010

Thrall limited edtion pre-order deadline this wednesday



Since it is Cyber Monday, we wanted to give a friendly reminder that pre-orders on Steven Shrewsbury's Thrall is this Wednesday. After Wednesday, if this version does not sell out, the price will rise significantly on any remaining packages.

There are lots of options available, including a softcover version of the package, and an option where you can get the new Gorias La Gaul t-shirt for just over 8 dollars. Please give this package some consideration, as you will be supporting an excellent author and small press at the same time. Plus, your book will last longer than the useable lifespan of the latest electronic gadget, most of which will be obsolete in two years.

While you are visiting the online store, you can also see the packages for Dream of Legends, Stephen Zimmer's new Fires in Eden installment. The deadline for pre-orders on that one is December 8th.

Click here to go to the online store

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

DREAM OF LEGENDS, Book 2 of the Fires in Eden Series, Announced!



Dream of Legends is here! The 2nd Book of the Fires in Eden Series by Stephen Zimmer is now announced, and pre-orders have begun for a special limited edition hardcover and first edition softcovers, both of which come with an array of Dream of Legends Collectibles.

Dream of Legends includes another fantastic set of illustrations and cover art from Matthew Perry, continuing one of fantasy's most unique collaborations between an author and an artist.

Epic battles, big plot revelations, and incredible new characters abound in Dream of Legends.

Be sure to check out the limited edition (only 75 copies will be made) and softcover packages, and add one or two to your holiday shopping list. Click here to go to the online store and pre-order.





Here's the brand new video trailer:



Full Press Release:

For Immediate Release
November 23, 2010


Seventh Star Press is proud to announce the release of DREAM OF LEGENDS, the second book in the epic fantasy Fires in Eden Series from Stephen Zimmer.

Now available for pre-order in limited edition hardcover and trade paperback, DREAM OF LEGENDS continues the adventures begun in CROWN OF VENGEANCE, when it was released in fall of 2009.

DREAM OF LEGENDS journeys forward with several characters from the modern world, who discover that finding themselves in the fantastical lands of Ave was just the beginning.  The assault upon the Kingdom of Saxany and the tribes of the Five Realms ignites, as the eyes of The Unifier turn southward, across the seas towards faraway Midragard.  Within this maelstrom, some find themselves on a path of discovery, to uncover powers that lie within, while others must brave perilous journeys, to seek out the things said to exist only in the faded mists of myth and legend.  Epic battles, plot twists, and new environments abound in DREAM OF LEGENDS.
 
Book Two of the Fires in Eden Series, DREAM OF LEGENDS is immersive, epic  fantasy, for those who love to explore richly developed fantasy worlds alongside an ensemble of intriguing, diverse characters.  Readers of the great epic fantasy authors such as Robert Jordan, George R.R. Martin, and J.R.R. Tolkien will find a wondrous trove of adventure, characters, and depth in this next step of the Fires in Eden series.

Working with Stephen for the first time, and taking on the editorial reins of the Fires in Eden Series to keep the dedicated yearly release schedule on course, was Karen Leet.

"Working with Stephen has been a joy. He is totally professional about his work, meets deadlines and edits cheerfully," Karen commented. "He makes editing easy for me, and I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know his characters, who now seem to me like actual people with genuine depth. His plotlines stride across the pages on swift, sure feet and sweep the reader along with them."
   
“Having Karen as my editor on DREAM OF LEGENDS was a wonderful experience.  She did a meticulous analysis of Crown of Vengeance to ensure full continuity of tone and style with the new book.  I am fortunate to be working with two excellent editors on my two series.  The new book is loaded with action, and there are some very big revelations in regards to the full series,” Stephen said.  “DREAM OF LEGENDS builds strongly upon the foundation set in place by Crown of Vengeance, keeping storylines tight while introducing many new and exciting elements.  I am confident that readers who enjoyed the first book are going to be elated with this new installment of the series.”

Continuing one of the most extensive collaborations between an artist and an author in the fantasy sphere, a brand new set of illustrations and cover art were created for DREAM OF LEGENDS by fantasy artist Matthew Perry.  With the two Rising Dawn Saga books and the two Fires in Eden books, a growing body of over 50 full page illustrations have been created by Matthew for Stephen’s literary work.

In addition to writing two active epic-scale fantasy series, The Rising Dawn Saga and the Fires in Eden Series, Stephen also saw his first foray into the steampunk genre published a couple of months ago with “In the Mountain Skies”, which was included in the Dreams of Steam Anthology (Editor Kimberly Richardson, Kerlak Publishing).  Stephen is also a screenwriter and director in the world of film, with a new fantasy short film on the horizon in early 2011, “Swordbearer”, which features professional wrestler Al Snow, and is based on the H. David Blalock novel Ascendant (Sam’s Dot Publishing).

By the third week of December, DREAM OF LEGENDS will be available in hardcover, trade paperback, and several eBook formats, for owners of the Kindle, the iPad, the Nook, Sony eReaders, and other compatible electronic reading devices.

Already maintaining one of the most active year-round appearance schedules of any fantasy author, Stephen will be hitting the road extensively in 2011 in support of the Fires in Eden Series, the Rising Dawn Saga, and the “Swordbearer” short film.  The third book in the Rising Dawn Saga is slated for summer of 2011, and the next Fires in Eden Book for December of 2011.

Updates and additional information can be obtained at the official site for Seventh Star Press, at www.seventhstarpress.com , or at the author's site at www.stephenzimmer.com

Contact:  C.C. James
Public Relations, Seventh Star Press
ccjames@seventhstarpress.com
Seventh Star Press Mailing Address:
3801 Dylan Place Suite 116, #7
Lexington, Ky. 40514-1062

Seventh Star Press is a small press publisher of speculative fiction located in Lexington Kentucky.

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Thrall Banners now availabe--help us spread the word

Please help us spread the word on Steven Shrewsbury's fantastic new heroic fantasy novel Thrall. Two new banners available promoting Thrall and the limited edition hardcovers (deadline on pre-orders is December 1)

Visit the following link to get code to cut and paste the banners into your blogs and pages.

http://www.seventhstarpress.com/documents/help_promote_ssp_releases.html

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Steven Shrewsbury's Thrall Unveiled! Book trailer, press release, and pre-orders!

Seventh Star Press proudly introduces THRALL, the new heroic fantasy novel from Steven L. Shrewsbury. Fans of Robert E. Howard's Conan or David Gemmell's Druss the Legend are sure to love this fantastic, hard-hitting fantasy release.

The Pre-ordering window is now up for a special Limited Edition Hardcover (HIGHLY collectible, as this is the first appearance of the Gorias La Gaul character, and there are only 75 copies in the limited edition run)

The novel features artwork and illustrations from Matthew Perry. Here is the cover art and one of the illustrations, which features Gorias La Gaul.







Watch the new video trailer for Thrall here:




Here is the entire text of the press release:


For Immediate Release
November 5, 2010

Seventh Star Press Proudly Introduces Steven L. Shrewsbury's Thrall.

Seventh Star Press is proud to announce the release of THRALL, the new heroic fantasy novel from author Steven L. Shrewsbury.

Now available for pre-order in limited edition hardcover and trade paperback, THRALL is the first published adventure of a brand new hero in fantasy literature, Gorias La Gaul.

Set in an ancient world, Thrall is gritty, dark-edged heroic fantasy in the vein of Robert E. Howard and David Gemmell. It tells the story of Gorias La Gaul, an aging warrior who has lived for centuries battling the monstrosities of legend and lore. It is an age when the Nephilum walk the earth, and dragons still soar through the air … living or undead. On a journey to find one of his own blood, Gorias' path crosses with familiar enemies ... some of whom not even death can hold bound.

Having also worked with Steven on his novel Tormentor (Lachesis Publishing), Louise Bohmer served as the editor on Thrall. "Working with Steven Shrewsbury on a novel is an enjoyable experience. Steve is a conscientious author who is easy to work with. His stories are grand adventures in imagination,” Bohmer commented.

Steven Shrewsbury is a rising star in fantasy, with a host of published work spanning novels, magazines, anthologies, and other publications. In addition to the release of THRALL, Steven recently saw his collaboration with Nate Southard, BAD MAGICK, published in hardcover by Bloodletting Press. He has two other highly-anticipated releases on the horizon. His collab novel with Peter Welmerink, BEDLAM UNLEASHED, was recently accepted by Belfire Press for an early 2011 release. The novel HELL BILLY is to be published by Bad Moon Books in 2012.

“Sometimes I think Steven Shrewsbury could very well be the reincarnation of Robert E. Howard, in a writing sense,” commented fellow Seventh Star Press author Stephen Zimmer. “As a huge fan of David Gemmell and Robert E. Howard, I can say with absolute confidence that Steven Shrewsbury is exceptional at writing dark-edged heroic fantasy. It is not an exaggeration to say that Gorias La Gaul could one day join the heroic fantasy pantheon with Conan, Druss the Legend, and other legendary fantasy figures. I can’t wait to read more adventures with Gorias in the future.”

The Seventh Star Press editions feature cover art and additional illustrations from fantasy artist Matthew Perry. The limited edition packages feature the artwork in a special set of 5X7 glossy prints, a set of bookmarks, and a full-sized Gorias poster that come with every pre-ordered hardcover or trade paperback.

By the first week of December, the book will be available in hardcover, trade paperback, and several eBook formats, for owners of the Kindle, the iPad, the Nook, Sony eReaders, and other compatible electronic reading devices.

An extensive series of special events and signings in support of THRALL are in the planning stages, slated to begin in early 2011.

Updates and additional information can be obtained at the official site for Seventh Star Press, at www.seventhstarpress.com , or at the author's site at www.stevenshrewsbury.com


Contact: C.C. James
Public Relations, Seventh Star Press
ccjames@seventhstarpress.com
Seventh Star Press Mailing Address:
3801 Dylan Place Suite 116, #7
Lexington, Ky. 40514-1062

Seventh Star Press is a small press publisher of speculative fiction located in Lexington Kentucky.

ShareThis